Your love plus my love = Supa Love


If there’s anything I’ve learned in my stint as a K-pop fan, it’s to never judge an idol group by their name. Despite the fact that I find “Teen Top” a cause to snort with derision (what’s going to happen when they hit their 20’s? Are they going to be Young Adult Top?) their brand spanking new song Supa Love is seriously stuck in my head. Seriously – I find myself singing along in the shower and every time it comes up in my playlist, I find myself wiggling in my seat.

The lead singer’s voice is a little too Justin Bieber for my taste but I don’t really mind all that much. It’s a great pop song, catchy without being too annoying, and there’s something about the way the rap flows that I find very interesting.

On a purely aesthetic level though, OH MY GOD, WHAT IS THIS HAIR?? It’s not the worst concept I’ve seen but I feel like you can get that sci-fi feel without having to give them identical, two-toned bowlcuts. The choreography is pretty cool though; it goes well with the concept and I’m not even laughing about the fact that one of their hook moves is basically an update of the sprinkler.

I don’t know how many of you actually care, but the reason why I haven’t been around as much is because I’m on my second (last!) semester of university and all of my subjects are asking for final papers, all to be passed at the end of the month or the beginning of February. Crazy shit, man. But I’ll definitely still be posting. Toodles!

2 thoughts on “Your love plus my love = Supa Love

  1. Good luck with finals!! I didn’t really care for them, but I decided to just listen to this song and it’s so addictive and just gets stuck in your head kinda like ‘Gee did.

    • I found Gee totally annoying though haha! I mean, at least the repetition of the hook phrase made sense within the context of the song. Gee on the other hand doesn’t mean anything at all. You could insert another monosyllabic gibberish word and the song would have a similar effect.

Leave a Reply

