Music Recommendation Monday!

A few administrative matters before I get on with today’s Music Recommendation post:

1. I will not be reviewing 2ne1’s To Anyone album. I want to and I have a draft of it in my hard drive, but I’ve been having a hard time finishing it because my opinion of it keeps changing and I know it sounds presumptuous, but I would rather not review anything than post something half-assed. If you do want my opinion on it, feel free to ask on the official Formspring.

2. After this post, K Reviews will officially be on hiatus. Just for a month or so. I know this is no place for my personal woes and dribble but school is really eating me alive these days – I would really, really, really love to graduate on time (March 2011!) so I have to focus on salvaging the rest of the semester. I’ll be back with more music and more reviews by the second or third week of October because I’ll be on break for a month. I will most likely still be keeping up with the new releases though so again, feel free to drop me a line on the official Formspring.

In any case, I promised more music and now you will get more music! This particular playlist features a certain ex-mustachioed idol singer and an ex-mustachioed rapper, a sweet-as-marshmallow teenager with a big, big voice, as well as a three-member indie group that I’ve only recently appreciated. Let’s get it on! 🙂

O-IWI-O by Nassun and MBLAQ’s G.O. – I’m probably going to get a lot of hate for this, but I think that MBLAQ is well on their way to becoming a lost cause. A lot of the groups that debuted in the same year as they did have majorly stepped up their game since then but I’m not getting anything from MBLAQ other than the fact that they seem to take pride in their rather questionable personal hygiene. It’s a shame because G.O.’s a top notch performer with the quite possibly the smoothest voice I’ve ever heard.

Speaking of smooth, if you haven’t checked out the MV or the live performances yet, you’re missing half your life because Nassun’s made quite possibly the biggest transition I’ve ever seen in K-pop. While we all laughed as he sported long hair, glasses and a beard + mustache combo for Lee Hyori’s U-Go-Girl, he’s now looking rather dapper, all clean-cut and clean-shaven.

MIA by IU – IU, oh IU, I adore thee. This song is actually quite old, it’s from her Lost and Found mini-album, which she released in 2008, and subsequently, her Growing Up album released the year after, but I’m convinced that it’s one of the best songs she’s ever done. It’s very mature and haunting, and her voice sounds absolutely stunning, quite a nice change from the usual, airy voice she uses, which is also nice, but of a totally different category.

If you’re wondering why IU doesn’t do songs like this anymore, rumor has it that Korean netizens claimed that she was lip-syncing her performances because supposedly 15-year-olds don’t have voices like that.

To which I can just say, “Um. Excuse you.”

It’s All About Love by Mate – Mate is a three-member indie group that I’ve known of since last year, though I’ve only recently re-discovered them a couple of weeks ago, when I was updating my Zen’s library. This is probably my favorite song off their With Mate mini-album, for the sole reason that I have an overactive imagination and like to add background music to the scenes that I make up in my head.

And that’s it! 🙂 Download links will be down in 48 hours as always. Don’t forget to support the artists! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Music Recommendation Monday!

  1. I’ll miss you for am entire month ! O-IWI-O is soooooo chill I listen to it like everyday. I think that G.O. should go ahead and start his solo career because we all know that it’s going to happen.

    • That’s very sweet of you :3 The song’s been getting major repeats on my playlist as well. I love love LOVE it! 🙂 I’m not sure if G.O. will be able to pull off solo work but he is pretty good as a collaboration artist – check out the duet he did with J.Ae! 🙂

      • I love J.ae and that song is also on repeat. I liked him when he was in the project group TKEYS, they were really good

Leave a Reply

