[mv beat] Miss A’s Bad Girl Good Girl


So this is the group that Hye Lim was supposed to be a part of.

Concept-wise, I kind of like the overall simplicity of their look, though I’m not entirely sure how smart it is to wear booty shorts when one has no booty to speak of. I also don’t really like the leotard that the two girls are wearing because in general, I don’t think that showing off one’s crotch like that is ever flattering, but hey, whatever floats your boat.

The entire thing actually reminds me a bit of a younger, less polished CSJH The Grace – one of the girls even looks a bit like Stephanie. I think her name is Fei? – in terms of being more comfortable with their sexuality as opposed to the usual, “I’m being sexy, oppa, but wait, I’m shy so I’m going to give you some aegyo to offset my sexy!!!” and I don’t think I’d mind too much if they did decide to go down that route. My only qualm would be that one of the girls is underage (Suzy – the one in the skirt – is 16, I think?), and it would probably be a waste of Min‘s talent because you know she can probably do more complicated stuff than that.

Not a fan of the song itself, though (but I fluctuate, so that’ll probably change). As far as I can tell from their live, the girls’ voices are pretty strong, no glaring mistakes, and it doesn’t look like they have a ‘weak link’ in the chain. In terms of showing off vocal chops though, the song doesn’t really do anything. Min, for example, only really goes up and down maybe two to three notes, and there’s not much of climax (no noticeable key change, no one ad-libbing runs, that sort of thing), though I will give them props for keeping their voices steady throughout the entire performance. You know those lapel mics pick up everything.

Overall…yeah, they’ve got potential. Keeping an eye on these girls.

Also, stop tagging your songs, JYP, I KNOW WHO I’M LISTENING TO. B|

5 thoughts on “[mv beat] Miss A’s Bad Girl Good Girl

  1. I didn’t like this song when I first heard it, but it’s growing on me. šŸ™‚

    “I think her name is Fei? ā€“ in terms of being more comfortable with their sexuality as opposed to the usual, ā€œIā€™m being sexy, oppa, but wait, Iā€™m shy so Iā€™m going to give you some aegyo to offset my sexy!!!ā€”

    THIS. I mean, I’m one of those girls who likes SNSD — please don’t brick me, I’m not a submissive female — but you’re right, it does get tiring after a while. These girls seem fun, and the music video shows em off well. šŸ™‚

    • Oh gosh thanks :)) I get a lot of crap for liking them eh, because some people think liking cutesy things makes you a boring loser, idk. Oh and there are crazy people who don’t like you if you like artists under SM because they don’t like the company’s policy. But gah, you can dislike the company policy without boycotting the artists.

      Run Devil Run wasn’t cutesy naman — it’s my favorite thing they’ve ever done. Actually though I listen to them on heavy rotation, I only have 6 of their songs. šŸ˜›

  2. ā€œIā€™m being sexy, oppa, but wait, Iā€™m shy so Iā€™m going to give you some aegyo to offset my sexy!!!ā€
    I love this sentence so much, I wish there were an ongoing forum discussion somewhere on this so I could quote you.
    I had originally liked the song, but after watching a handful of performances, it got boring for me. The girls are pretty talented, but JYPE should’ve given them more challenging tracks to cover IMO.
    BTW I just discovered this site like five minutes ago through Omona Lounge and I’ve gotta say that I really like your style of writing! You express your opinions in a really mature manner and it’s got just the right amount of humor to make it entertaining yet still worth a read. I have a feeling you’re going to be influencing my own style sometime soon, and I definitely do not say that – or give compliments in regards to writing, for that matter – often at all.

    • Wow, thank you so much! ā¤ I was worried about starting this blog because I wasn't sure if I could write without getting all flail-y about the groups I like so your maturity comment really means a lot to me. Thank you for reading! ā¤

Leave a Reply

