Kaye’s Top 8 of the 8th: My Top 8 Forever Songs

I have the habit of attaching the word ‘forever’ to things I’m sure I’m going to like for a very long time, and I figured that with February being the love month and everything, I could give you guys 8 K-songs that I love and will probably love forever for my first Top 8 of the 8th. In no particular order of course, because that’s like asking your mom to pick out her favorite child – you know there’s a ranking but she’ll never tell you because then you’ll feel bad.

1. Broken Promises by KARA – KARA didn’t always have that sugary-sweet image. They debuted in 2007 with a mature, strong and independent concept, and 4 members: Nicole, Seunghyun, Gyuri and Sunghee. Sunghee left in 2008 because her grades weren’t up to par and she was so awesome that DSP needed to put in two girls to try and fill her shoes, and thus you have the current line-up and the current image that coincidentally, many other female idol groups have also!

My bitterness is showing, I’m sorry. Anyway, it was instant love when I heard this song – I love the beats, I love the melody and how the girls managed to sound sweet without being too saccharine or overdoing the high voices.

2. Beautiful Life by DBSK – I feel like where DBSK is concerned, I’m stuck in 2007. I fell out of the fandom after ‘O’ because I sort of shifted from the DBSK fandom to the Super Junior fandom simply for the entertainment factor of 12-13 (and now 15) men goofing off with one another. Still, this song remains to be my absolute favorite from them and it kind of weirded me out when I heard an English version of this on the radio sung by Wayne Brady.

3. I Do by Bi/Rain – I think this song is easily overlooked because more people prefer How To Avoid the Sun, but I find this song really sweet, one of my favorite songs to listen to on chill rainy days and you’re in bed with the covers pulled up to your chin. (Totally shallow side note: Check out Bi’s totally old school iPod!)

4. Perhaps Love by Howl & J – I love OSTs. I think that the music and scoring plays a huge role in creating the mood for scenes in a drama or movie. Part of what made Goong/Princess Hours watchable for me is the soundtrack, particularly this song. I really liked the subtle insertion of this song during the ‘I think I’m sort of starting to like him/her but I’m not really sure’ scenes in the drama. The fact that I watched a fanvid of Goong’s most heart-wrenching scenes between Prince Shin and Chae Kyung with this song set as the background music certainly helped of course, because I’m a sucker for all things romantic.
5. Noona Neomu Yeppeo (Replay) by SHINee – Best debut song, in my opinion, and not just because I’m part of the targeted demographic (I’m older than everyone in SHINee except for Onew). This song had Jonghyun (one of my favorite idol vocalists) singing a sweeter tune in comparison to their more recent releases, and me bobbing my head to the beat from the very beginning.
6. Romeo N Juliet by Clazziquai – I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with the breathy, airy fairy sort of voices that seem to permeate the Kmusic scene and I think that Horan’s voice is one of those airy-done-right sort of deals because she manages to sound sort of ethereal in all of Clazziquai’s more mellow releases. In general, I love Clazziquai but this song is one of my favorites.
7. Twins (Knock Out!) by Super Junior – Okay, okay, this is definitely not one of their best songs, but it was their first and the song that got me into the fandom. I still like doing Kibum’s part: “YOU KNOW I WANNA OUT THE LIGHT, YOU KNOW I WANNA DO THIS RIGHT” *makes angry, gangsta hand gestures* Bit of trivia, I seriously thought Heechul was a girl.
8. I Love You by 2AM ft. 8eight – The youngest song of the bunch! I’ve been a fan of 2AM since their debut because their voices were just so beautiful but I had a hard time really paying attention to their performances because their ballads were always SO BORING and made them sound so old. I’m glad this new mini of theirs managed to show off the boys vocal chops while remaining catchy and fresh-sounding. I like the female voice featuring in this one, gives the song a little extra kick and I’m keeping my fingers crossed in hopes of this being the next song 2AM promotes off their mini.
So there you have it, my Top 8 Forever Songs. How about you, readers? Which K-songs are going to stay with you forever?

I have the habit of attaching the word ‘forever’ to things I’m sure I’m going to like for a very long time, and I figured that with February being the love month and everything, I could give you guys 8 K-songs that I love and will probably love forever for my first Top 8 of the 8th. In no particular order of course, because that’s like asking your mom to pick out her favorite child – you know there’s a ranking but she’ll never tell you because then you’ll feel bad.

1. Broken Promises by KARA – KARA didn’t always have that sugary-sweet image. They debuted in 2007 with a mature, strong and independent concept, and 4 members: Nicole, Seunghyun, Gyuri and Sunghee. Sunghee left in 2008 because her grades weren’t up to par and she was so awesome that DSP needed to put in two girls to try and fill her shoes, and thus you have the current line-up and the current image that coincidentally, many other female idol groups have also!

My bitterness is showing, I’m sorry. Anyway, it was instant love when I heard this song – I love the beats, I love the melody and how the girls managed to sound sweet without being too saccharine or overdoing the high voices.

2. Beautiful Life by DBSK – I feel like where DBSK is concerned, I’m stuck in 2007. I fell out of the fandom after ‘O’ because I sort of shifted from the DBSK fandom to the Super Junior fandom simply for the entertainment factor of 12-13 (and now 15) men goofing off with one another. Still, this song remains to be my absolute favorite from them and it kind of weirded me out when I heard an English version of this on the radio sung by Wayne Brady.

3. I Do by Bi/Rain – I think this song is easily overlooked because more people prefer How To Avoid the Sun, but I find this song really sweet, one of my favorite songs to listen to on chill rainy days and you’re in bed with the covers pulled up to your chin. (Totally shallow side note: Check out Bi’s totally old school iPod!)

4. Perhaps Love by Howl & J – I love OSTs. I think that the music and scoring plays a huge role in creating the mood for scenes in a drama or movie. Part of what made Goong/Princess Hours watchable for me is the soundtrack, particularly this song. I really liked the subtle insertion of this song during the ‘I think I’m sort of starting to like him/her but I’m not really sure’ scenes in the drama. The fact that I watched a fanvid of Goong’s most heart-wrenching scenes between Prince Shin and Chae Kyung with this song set as the background music certainly helped of course, because I’m a sucker for all things romantic.
5. Noona Neomu Yeppeo (Replay) by SHINee – Best debut song, in my opinion, and not just because I’m part of the targeted demographic (I’m older than everyone in SHINee except for Onew). This song had Jonghyun (one of my favorite idol vocalists) singing a sweeter tune in comparison to their more recent releases, and me bobbing my head to the beat from the very beginning.
6. Romeo N Juliet by Clazziquai – I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with the breathy, airy fairy sort of voices that seem to permeate the Kmusic scene and I think that Horan’s voice is one of those airy-done-right sort of deals because she manages to sound sort of ethereal in all of Clazziquai’s more mellow releases. In general, I love Clazziquai but this song is one of my favorites.
7. Twins (Knock Out!) by Super Junior – Okay, okay, this is definitely not one of their best songs, but it was their first and the song that got me into the fandom. I still like doing Kibum’s part: “YOU KNOW I WANNA OUT THE LIGHT, YOU KNOW I WANNA DO THIS RIGHT” *makes angry, gangsta hand gestures* Bit of trivia, I seriously thought Heechul was a girl.
8. I Love You by 2AM ft. 8eight – The youngest song of the bunch! I’ve been a fan of 2AM since their debut because their voices were just so beautiful but I had a hard time really paying attention to their performances because their ballads were always SO BORING and made them sound so old. I’m glad this new mini of theirs managed to show off the boys vocal chops while remaining catchy and fresh-sounding. I like the female voice featuring in this one, gives the song a little extra kick and I’m keeping my fingers crossed in hopes of this being the next song 2AM promotes off their mini.
So there you have it, my Top 8 Forever Songs. How about you, readers? Which K-songs are going to stay with you forever?
4 thoughts on “Kaye’s Top 8 of the 8th: My Top 8 Forever Songs

  1. giiiirl you got a couple of my jams on here! i also like "i do" more than "how to avoid the sun" because of the whole rainy day image haha.i'm gonna have to check out kara's older stuff because i like that sound. it's a shame they're so cutesy now. D:"noona nomu yeppeo" is definitely the best debut song i've heard and i consider it a kpop classic even though it's less than 2 years old. XD"i love you" is basically amazing and i can listen to it forever.some k-songs that will stay with me forever:se7en – honey i knowrain – him and me ft. dynamic duoshinee – love's wayoutsider – remember the name

  2. can I say I Do is one of my favourite Rain songs ever, it's adorable and sadly I know all of the lyricsmy forever songs (well, as of writing):Propose – Noel; I LOVE THIS SONG TO DEATH. TO DEATH.She Is – Clazziquai; because of the drama it was used in and because it was my first Clazziquai songFate – Why; the Full House theme song, I love that drama lol and I get really excited when I hear the song because I remember when I was like 12 I watched Full House for the first time with my cousins and we would belt out the chorus Lie – G.O.D; amazing song, G.O.D are amazing, I would list all of their songs here if I couldOnly You – 2PM; just because

Leave a Reply

